Thanks River House!

8 12 2010

As a native Oregonian, I have been privileged to grow up in a location with so much beauty and natural wonder. I spent my childhood camping at Olallie Lake and on the Collawash River, kayaking on the Sandy and hiking Multnomah Falls. My love for nature and the outdoors is an attribute that I have in common with the City of Eugene River House Outdoor Program and I was honored to attain an internship with this organization last spring.

 Working along with Colette Ramirez-Maddock, Recreation Program Assistant at the River House, I have gained valuable experience as a journalism major by creating posts for this very blog and also working on the River House’s social media sites. We have used these tools to create awareness of the various programs the River House has to offer and to also  promote the organizations vision of creating ties within our community and providing a place for everyone, especially youth to discover outdoor adventure.

One of my favorite experiences I had while interning for the River House was participating in one of there sailing programs along with former intern Andrew Phillips. We went on an evening sailing excursion at Fern Ridge Reservoir watching the schooner races and witnessing the beautiful sunset.

With the end of fall term comes the end of my internship at the River House and I will miss all of the friendly staff but I am thankful for the wonderful experience I had while interning here and the opportunity to expand my skills for my future endeavors. Thank you everyone!

Writte by: Grace Stickney

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Actions

Information

One response

20 12 2010
Andrew Phillips

Sad! It’s been fun periodically checking up on the blog to see its progression. You’ve done great things here at the River House Grace! I’m sure everyone there will miss you and your infectious smile! And of course, I already do miss you (and everyone at the River House too!).

Leave a Reply

