A W-A-L-K around my neighborhood.

10 06 2011

Each morning, whether rain or shine, I take my dogs on a W-A-L-K (we can’t say “walk” w/o my dogs running with excitement to the door) around my neighborhood. One thing I consciously do is allow my dogs to stop and sniff every once in awhile. This sure does make them happy. So as they are exploring with their noses, I take the time to observe my neighbor’s landscapes with my eyes. I am happy to report that in my neighborhood more and more people are using native plants mixed into their ornamental gardens. Why am I so happy?

Using native-plants assures they’ll thrive and as they support native birds, insects and other pollinators that depend on familiar home-grown species for a healthy eco-system.

I would like to share with you some pictures I took earlier this month of my dogs on our daily w-a-l-k. To the right you will see Pepper amongst both native (Goat’s Beard and Oregon Mock Orange) and the ornamental non-native plant (Astilbe).

Vida is running through a field of  Buttercup in a nearby park .

One of my favorite trees in Oregon is the Pacific Madrone (Arbutus menziesii).  See photo below of Vida & a Pacific Madrone.

I have seen more and more people plant the Pacific Madrone at their homes. I am sad to say that I don’t have one of these in my yard.  Although we do have 6 Oregon Ash (Fraxinus latifolia) trees and a Red Elderberry (Sambucus racemosa) we started from a stray seedling .

One of my favorite homes which showcases (see picture below) both native and non-

native landscaping is one block away from my home. They have a beautiful rock garden that features non-natives such as Lithodora, Candy Tuft, Coral Bells, and Daylillies and natives such as Snowberry (Symphoricarposalbus), Kinnikinnick (Arctostaphylos uva-ursi), Yarrow (Achillea millefolium), Pink Thrift (Armeria maritima) and a variety of Juncus that I am pretty sure is native.

In my backyard (see picture below) I’ve planted two Ceanothus next to a red twig dogwood (Sambucus racemosa), but along the row of natives we’ve also incorporated non-natives such as Sedum Dragon’s Blood, a beautiful flowering Crabapple, Coral Bell, a Hydran-gea Paniculata and a Euphorbia.

Oregonians, if  you want to learn more about landscaping with native plants then I would recommend picking up the three booklets about gardening with native plants that were produced by the Native Gardening Awareness Program, which is a committee of the Emerald Chapter of the Native Plant Society of Oregon.  You can also view it online at the following link:  http://emerald.npsoregon.org/GardeningWithNatives.html

Enjoy taking a w-a-l-k. I know Pepper, Vida and I will. Don’t worry I won’t be coming by your house and noting the percentage of native vs. non-native plants you have incorporated into your landscape.

Written by Melinda Koshi Vega, Office Manager of the City of Eugene Outdoor Program

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

