Endangered Rivers

3 09 2014

My elementary school years involved spending a rather large chunk of time learning about Endangered Species–one year I made a paper mache manatee, and another year, I dressed as a ring-tailed lemur (no easy feat).  We did not discuss Endangered Rivers. Did you? I just discovered this term–but see it in action every year as I go back home to my river, the Bourbeuse River, in Missouri. Swimming or canoeing down to ‘Big Rock’–the exceedingly creative name my family chose for…a big rock–is now more like swimming in a wide, muddy drainage ditch. I will never again be chased out of the river by a water snake, or spend hours making tadpole homes. My uncle isn’t setting up the trotline at 4am anymore.

If you can relate to this sentiment, and even if you can’t, I highly suggest you check out this article, linked below. Let’s expand our talk of Endangered Species to the rivers, the forests, and the prairies.

Down the ‘Apocalypse River’

blog post by Michelle Brown

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

